CIS as successor of the former Sovjet Union
The Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) has been founded 1991 shortly after the collapse of the Soviet Union USSR by 11 of its former republics: Russia, Belarus, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan,Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Georgia, Ukraine and Moldova. The purpose of the CIS is the cooperation on political, economic, military and security matters between the members.
This however cannot be achieved easely, as the problems with the Ukraine or Georgia make clear, which try to achieve NATO partnership. Other organisations within CIS like EurAsec, CES and CSTO do have the same problems. The Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO) for example since 2002 only comprises 6 members. Other alliances were established with non CIS members like the Black Sea Naval Cooperation Task Group (BLACKSEAFOR).

All Navy stuff on the following pages is clearly Russian dominated, although there are still many agreements about Russian bases abroad and as we don't know what rope teams we will see in the future, I kept "CIS" instead of "Russian", "Ukrainian", etc, but "CIS Navy" normally reads as "Russian Navy".